Learning to French Braid – Networked Learning Project: Week 1

So I want to learn to french braid girls hair. Let me rephrase…I want to learn to french braid my daughters hair. There are several reasons for this interest. One reason is that I often get my girls up in the morning and get them off to school. While I’m good at making sure that they are clothed and fed, I am pretty worthless when it comes to their hair. Honestly, most of the time I forget that they have hair (if you saw my head, you would understand). I considered learning this braiding skill much later in life – like when my girls are in their twenties and ready to date. However, the school years can be hard enough even with good hair. Add a head that looks like a rat’s nest and it could be a long few decades. The main reason I decided now is the time to address these hair issues is that in my Ed Tech class at MSU, I have been instructed to learn something that I have always wanted to do. However, there is a catch. I can only use YouTube and Internet Help Forums for information. I have four weeks to learn. Oh my poor girls!

I figured that I should see what I’m up against over the next few weeks so last night I asked my oldest daughter if I could braid her hair. My heart melted as she beamed about this idea and immediately hopped up on a stool. However, as I was pulling out half her hair a few minutes later, the smile had transformed into a grimace. To her credit, she was very brave and held back any screams.

Before
Before
After
After

I realized during this ordeal that I don’t even know what a french braid is and as I was deciding how much hair to grab, I remembered that the Bible says a strand of three cords is not easily broken. I figured if three cords is good enough for the Bible, three clusters (bunches?) of hair should be good enough for a braid! You can see my first attempt at a braiding on the video embedded below. (If embedded content does not load, here’s the hyperlink)

Although I am just embarking on this journey, I have already identified a few good sources. I first searched “how to braid hair” on YouTube and received 542,000 hits. That seems like an excessive amount of hair videos and I quickly realized I needed to narrow my focus a bit. I then focused my search to “how to french braid” and received only 108,000 hits. While this seemed more manageable, many of the video thumbnails showed very long hair. My daughters both have short hair so I made one more modification to my search – “how to french braid short hair”. Now I have a mere 55,200 videos to view! I have also begun to search for a useful help forum. So far I have identified “The Long Hair Community” and the “Long Hair Care Forum.” Hopefully I will soon work up the nerve to enter into these discussions.

Screen Shot 2015-05-31 at 1.14.36 PM
YouTube Search (https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=how+to+french+braid+short+hair)
Screen Shot 2015-05-31 at 1.18.14 PM
The Long Hair Community (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/index.php)

Wish me (and my daughters) luck as we beginning this hairy journey. I’ll keep you posted in the weeks to come.

One thought on “Learning to French Braid – Networked Learning Project: Week 1

Leave a Reply

