Passion, Curiosity & My Professional Learning Network

As I am wrapping up my final week in CEP 812 (and in the Graduate Certificate in Educational Technology program at MSU) I was asked to reflect on all I have learned over the past 7 months. While this reflection is just a brief stop on my journey to a Masters in Ed Tech, I have already been introduced to many new technology tools and more importantly, I have learned about how to think about technology integration (most notably, the TPACK framework). Technology alone will fail to improve my teaching if I do not have adequate science knowledge and if I am lacking in my pedagogy knowledge. Therefore, I cannot just focus my learning on technology but rather I need to continue to learn about science, pedagogy and technology and how to weave all this knowledge together. If I am to continue to learn about all of these things, I will need a large amount of passion and curiosity to drive me forward.

As part of this “final” reflection, I was required to “create something using something”. In addition, this digital creation had to show how I embody passion and curiosity in my teaching and how this passion and curiosity filters down to my students. 

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 8.09.08 AM
My Original PLN

After much thought, I decided to re-examine the Professional Learning Network (PLN) Popplet that I created nearly 7 months ago, early in CEP 810. Much has changed since then in my understanding of networking, collaboration, shared knowledge, and technology integration and I wanted to reflect these changes. In addition, I believe that my willingness and excitement to pursue this network of people and places shows my passion to be a life-long learner and my curiosity to discover the best ways to teach. Finally, I wanted to take this chance to learn a new tech tool. I have always wanted to create my own Prezi so that is where I built my updated PLN. I hope you enjoy!

Note: It appears that there is no easy way to embed a Prezi on WordPress. I am still trying to figure out a way but in the meantime, please click on the Prezi picture or use the link posted below. If you have any advice about embedding this Prezi on WordPress.com, please leave a comment below. Thanks.

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 9.21.41 AM

http://prezi.com/ucyvvnyfpzod/?utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=copy

Leave a Reply

